explain male reproductive system

The Male Reproductive System

  • It is located in the pelvic region.

  • It consists of:

    • A pair of testes

    • Accessory glands and ducts

    • External genitalia


  • Situated within the scrotum, which protects the testes and also helps in maintaining the temperature.

  • Each testis is 4 to 5 cm in length, and 2 to 3 cm in width, and has about 250 compartments called testicular lobules.

  • Testicular lobules have seminiferous tubules which are the sites of sperm formation.

  • Seminiferous tubules are lined by two types of cells:

    • Male germ cells − They undergo meiosis to form sperms.

    • Sertoli cells − They provide nourishment to the germ cells.

  • Region outside the seminiferous tubules is called the interstitial space, which contains Leydig cells (interstitial cells). The Leydig cells produce androgens.

Accessory Ducts and Glands

  • Accessory ducts include:

    • Rete testis

    • Vasa efferentia

    • Epididymis

    • Vas deferens

  • The seminiferous tubules open into the vasa efferentia through the rete testis.

  • The vasa efferentia open into the epididymis, which leads to the vas deferens. The vas deferens opens into the urethra along with a duct from the seminal vesicle called the ejaculatory duct.

  • The ejaculatory duct stores the sperms and transports them to the outside

  • The urethra starts from the urinary bladder, extends through the penis and opens via theurethral meatus.

  • Accessory glands include:

    • A pair of seminal vesicles

    • Prostate gland

    • A pair of bulbourethral glands

  • The secretions of these glands make up the seminal plasma, and provide nutrition and a medium of motility to the sperms.

  • 31
What are you looking for?