list the five steps food undergoes during digestion

The process of digestion occurs in five distinct steps. These are as follows.

1.Ingestion: The process of taking in food through the buccal cavity is known as ingestion.

2.Digestion: It is the process of breaking down food into simpler substances.

3.Absorption: The process of absorption takes place in the small intestine. Here, the digested food is absorbed in the blood through the villi, which are sac-like structures.

4.Assimilation: The food absorbed by blood is transported to various parts of the body by blood vessels. This process is known as assimilation.

5.Egestion: The process of removing the undigested food material from the body through the anus is known as egestion.


  • 12

the five steps food undergoes during digestion:-






  • -2
What are you looking for?