Thallophyta, bryophyta and pteridophyta are called as cryptogams, gymnosperms and angiosperms are called as phanerogams. Discuss why? Write any one difference between monocotyledons and dicotyledons with example.

Thallophyta, Bryophyta, and pteridophyta are called cryptogams because the reproductive organs of these groups are inconspicious or hidden. Seeds are absent.

Gymnosperms and angiosperms are called phenerogams because they have well diffrentiated reproductive tissue and the embryo with stored food. Their embryo develops into seeds.
Monocot Dicot
One cotyledon Two cotyledons
Parallel vein in leaves Reticulate vein in leaves
trimerous flower tetramerous or pentamerous flower
Secondary growth absent Secondary growth present
Adventitious root tap root system



  • 53

1. the reproductive organs of plants in groups are very incoinspicous and do not prduce external flowers or seeds. so, these groups are called ''cryptogams" or with hidden reproductive organ.

2.gymnosperms and anigosperms are called phanerogams because plants with well differentiated reproductive tissue that ultimately make seeds.

3.MONOCOTS: plants with seed having a single cotyledon are called monocots. eg. wheat, rice, onion, sugarcane, barley etc.

DIACOTS: plants with seeds having two cotyledons are diacots eg. peanut, pea, potato, neem, apple etc.

please thumbsup!!!

  • 14
What are you looking for?