what are the different types of diabetes?

Diabetes are of three types:
1. Type 1 : Also known as insulin dependent diabetes. Beta cells in the pancreas gets destroyed due to auto-immune reaction where the body’s defence system attacks the pancreatic cells, as a result of which very little or no insulin is produced which leads to the increased level of glucose in the blood.

2. Type 2: Also called non-insulin dependent diabetes, characterised by insulin resistance and relative insulin deficiency. Occurs due to hereditary factors and lifestyle risk factors including insufficient physical activity and being overweight or obesity.

3. Gestational Diabetes: It is a type of diabetes where blood glucose levels increases during pregnancy. Most gestational diabetes goes away after birth.

  • 1
  • Type 1 diabetes.Also called insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus (IDDM), type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disorder in which the body's immune system destroys, or attempts to destroy, the cells in the pancreas that produce insulin. Type 1 diabetes usually develops in children or young adults, but can start at any age.

  • Type 2 diabetes.A metabolic disorder resulting from the body's inability to make enough, orproperly use, insulin. It used to be called noninsulin-dependent diabetes mellitus (NIDDM).

  • Gestational diabetes.A condition in which the blood glucose level is elevated and other diabetic symptoms appear during pregnancy in a woman who has not previously been diagnosed with diabetes.

  • 1
What are you looking for?