What are the three major phases of menstrual cycle in primates?Mention the key event in each phase.

Dear Student,

Here is the answer to your question,

  • Menstrual cycle is the reproductive cycle in all primates and begins at puberty (menarche).
  • In human females, menstruation occurs once in 28 to 29 days. The cycle of events starting from one menstruation till the next one is called the menstrual cycle.
  • During the middle of the menstrual cycle, one ovum is released (ovulation).
  • The cycle starts with the menstrual flow (3 to 5 days), caused due to the breakdown of the endometrium of the uterus. Blood vessels in liquid state are discharged, but this occurs only when the ovum is not fertilised.
  • It is followed by the follicular phase.In this phase, the primary follicles mature into the Graffian follicles. This causes the regeneration of the endometrium.
These changes are brought about by ovarian and pituitary hormones. In this phase, the release of gonadotropins (LH and FSH) increases. This causes follicular growth and the growing follicles produce oestrogen.
  • The LH and FSH are at their peak in the middle of the cycle (14th day), and cause the rupture of the Graffian follicles to release ovum. This phase is called the ovulatory phase.
  • The remains of the Graffian follicles get converted into the corpus luteum, which secretes progesterone for the maintenance of the endometrium.
  • In the absence of fertilisation, the corpus luteum degenerates, thereby causing the disintegration of the endometrium and the start of a new cycle.
  • In humans, the menstrual cycle ceases to operate at the age of 50 years. This phase is known as the menopause.

    Hope this helps,

    Cheers !!

  • 9
What are you looking for?