What is menstrual cycle.Describe its different phases with the help of diagram?

Dear Student

Menstrual cycle is the cycle of events occuring in females, with monthly periodic blood discharge from vagina due to the breakdown of the endometrial lining of the uterus.  The cycle begins with the discharge of blood, i.e, menstruation, the shedding of the endometrial wall lining the uterus in case no fertilisation occurs.  

The day count for menstrual cycle begins on the first day of menstruation when blood starts to come out of the vagina. Menstrual cycle can be divided into four main phases:  
Menstrual phase (From day 1 to 5)
Follicular phase (From day 1 to 13)
Ovulation phase (Day 14)
Luteal phase (From day 15 to 28)‚Äč

The four main stages of menstrual cycle in human females are : 

1) Menstrual stage :-  This is the initial stage of cycle start on day one and prolonged upto 5th day. during this stage inner lining of uterus breaks down slough off through the body in the form of menstrual fluid.
2) Follicular stage :- This stage also start on day one but lasts upto 13th day, during this stage one egg in the ovaries start maturing in sac like structure called follicle.
3) Ovulation stage :- On 14th day pituitary gland secrete hormones that cause the ovary to release egg into the fallopian tube.
4) Luteal phase :- On 15th day egg cell stays inside the fallopian tube for 24 hours until sperm come to fuse but after that it disintegrates and till the end of the cycle that is 28th day, the uterus prepare itself for the breakdown and slough off the inner wall of uterus.


  • 3
What are you looking for?