What is point diversity,alpha diversity,gamma diversity and epsilon diversity?

Dear student.

Alpha, beta and Gamma diversity are the terms used for measuring biodiversity over spatial scales, given by Whittaker (1972). 

Alpha diversity is the measure of biodiversity within a particular area or ecosystem. It is measured as species richness.

Beta diversity is the comparison or changes in the biodiversity in different ecosystems.

Gamma diversity refers to the measurement of total biodiversity for different ecosystems within a specific region​

The diversity of a single small or microhabitat community that is regarded as homogeneous is called point diversity. Example - A leaf or a flower.

The diversity that is applicable to broader geographic area is called as epsilon diversity. It includes total diversity of areas of gamma diversity.


  • 1
1.Point diversity - It refers to diversity on the smallest scale such as the diversity of microhabitat or sample taken from within a homogenous habitat. For example - A leaf or a flower. 2.Alpha diversity refers to the variety of organisms occurring in a particular habitat. Example - A single plant. 3.Gamma diversity - This refers to diversity of a larger unit such as a landscape or island. It can also be defined as overall diversity of a group of areas of alpha diversity. Example - A group of plants occurring together
  • 0
sorry for not writing epislon here it is

Epsilon diversity applies to large biogeographic areas. It includes diversity of a group of areas of gamma diversity. Example - The forest within which the plants are located.
  • 1
What are you looking for?