what were the important changes that were introduced by the British after the revolt of 1857

Changes in the policies of the British after the suppression of the rebellion of 1857:

(i) British Crown took over the control of administration − The British Parliament passed an Act in 1859, under which, the powers of the East India Company were transferred to the British Crown. The British government was now directly responsible for ruling India.

(ii) Provided a sense of security to the local rulers − The ruling chiefs of the country were assured that their territories would never be annexed by the British. However, they had to swear allegiance to the British crown. They also abolished the Doctrine of Lapse, thereby allowing rulers to pass on their kingdoms to adopted sons.

(iii) Provided a sense of security to landowners − Policies were made to protect landlords and zamindars, and give them security of rights over their lands.

(iv) Reorganised the army− The proportion of Indian soldiers in the army was reduced and the number of European soldiers in the army was increased.

(v) Treated the Muslims with suspicion and hostility − Considering them to be responsible for the rebellion in a big way, the British confiscated the land and property of Muslims on a large scale.

(vi) Promised non-interference in the sphere of religion − The British assured the people of India that their religious and social practises would be respected and not interfered with.


  • 16
What are you looking for?