write a short note on union territories of india ?

Some of the features of Union territories granted to it by the constitution are as:
(1)The Union Territories will be administered by the President through an administrator to be appointed by him with a suitable designation. Parliament, however, is empowered to make any other provision by law for the administration of any of these Territories.

(2) The President may, if he so chooses appoints the Governor of a State as the administrator of an adjoining Union Territory. In the exercise of his functions as administrator of a Union Territory, the Governor will act independently of his Council of Ministers.

(3) The President may make regulations for the peace, progress and good government of the Union Territories of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and the Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands.

The 7 union territories are-

1. Andaman and Nicobar islands

2. Chandigarh

3. Daman and Diu

4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli

5. National Capital Territory of Delhi

6. Lakshadweep

7. Puducherry 

  • 0
What are you looking for?