what are the parts of flower

A flower is divided into four main parts – calyx, corolla, androecium and gynoecium. Androecium and gynoecium are male and female reproductive parts of a flower respectively. Calyx and corolla are accessory parts.

Calyx - It is also known as sepals. It is green in colour and its main function is to protect the other essentials parts of a flower.  

Corolla – It is the second whorl of a flower. They are also known as petal and are usually the most colourful part of a flower. They sometimes have fragrances and of various shapes. They are useful to attract insects and birds for pollination.

Androecium – It is the male reproductive part of a flower. It consists of stamens. Stamens are made up of two parts – filamentous anther and granular lobes called pollen grains.

Gynoecium – It is the inner most whorl and the female reproductive part of a flower. It consists of ovary, style and stigma. Ovary is a swollen part which contains ovules. Ovary has a pipe-like extension called style and a flattened tip called stigma. Stigma receives the pollen grains. Ovules are attached to the ovary with a cushion like structure called placenta.


  • 2

the main parts of the flower are calyx , carolla, androecium and gynoecium

hope it helps

  • -2


  • -1
What are you looking for?